Tuesday, 03 October 2017 16:17

MPs meet co-rapporteurs of Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) to Montenegro

Members of the Parliament of Montenegro, Mr Predrag Sekulić, Mr Ervin Ibrahimović, Mr Raško Konjević, and Mr Momo Koprivica, met today, in separate meetings, with co-rapporteurs of Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) for the post-monitoring dialogue with Montenegro, Mr Ionut-Marian Stroe (Romania) and Ms Andrea Rigoni (Italy).

Co-rapporteurs got informed about the activities that Montenegro had implemented in terms of meeting the recommendations and obligations defined in the Resolution 2030 (2015) "The honouring of obligations and commitments by Montenegro", adopted by PACE in January 2015.

Special attention has been paid to the current political situation in the country, as well as issues related to the independence of the judiciary, electoral process, fight against corruption and the situation in the media.

The agenda of the visit of co-rapporteurs entails meetings with representatives of the executive and judicial branch of power as well, and representatives of international organisations, media and non-governmental organisations.

This is the second visit of co-rapporteurs to Montenegro, following the decision made by the PACE in January 2015 to close the monitoring procedure and engage in a post-monitoring dialogue with Montenegro. In the Resolution 2030 (2015) adopted on this occasion, the PACE recognised the progress that Montenegro had made during the previous period, made recommendations and pointed to the reforms that Montenegro should implement in order to complete the post-monitoring phase of the dialogue.